Stockmar and Journal Page

Remember I wrote about eco-friendly art-making?

Well, I ordered the Stockmar watercolors. I had to try them out.

There’s 18 flasks containing 10ml of paint each. The colours look very hummy togheter in their container!
My review begins immediately after opening the flasks. They have a heavy, organic smell to them. Not to be put off by, but it might take some getting used to. The paint differs in thickness. Some flasks need a firm squeeze; others can be poored straight into the palette. White and black, however didn’t poor at all. They were covered with a thick layer of hairy and stinking mold. Yuk! I’m all for organic, but this was so bad that it nearly put me off altogether. The paint was usable under the mold, though, so I scraped it off and carried on my review.

I started out making a color chart of all 18 colours I have. What struck me first, was the brilliance and vibrance of the colors. It reminded me a bit of ecoline. I wonder if the paints are really made with pigments or with colorants like ecoline. The paint is said to be lightfast, so then it should be pigments. Then I’m amazed to see they got such lovely intensity in color!

So far I’m happy.

Then I painted and mixed some colours. Well, the paint is very fine. It blends very well, but it hardly allows for a powdery finish such as the St. Petersburg with thicker layering. The Stockmar colors pick up very easily from the paper when dry. So the painting technique is significantly different than any other watercolor paint I’ve used so far. The semi-fluidity of the paint does allow for opaque use when not thinned with water.

All in all Stockmar can be a very interesting paint and certainly allows for further experimenting. I’ll put the results online.

Then, today’s journal page…

