Bodyworlds comes to Rotterdam

23 September – 23 January 2011 “Bodyworlds & the Story of the Heart”, the exhibition with REAL human bodies comes to Rotterdam in LP II on the Wilhelminapier.

I’m going.

Not without reservation, though. For I’m a little apprehensive of seeing real dead people exposed. What will it do to me? If I’m correct, there’s also a baby in the exhibition and I don’t know if I can take that. But on the other hand, I’ve heard great reviews of people who’ve already visited this exhibition. It is very informative of who we are beneath our skins and also, I’ve heard, it’s graphic on what healthy living means. I’ve heard somebody describe healthy lungs and smoker’s lungs. It helped her ditch the fags!

I’m going especially because in Rotterdam it’s all about the Heart. And since I was born with Tetralogy of Fallot, a congenital heart deflection, I’m fascinated to see the real thing. To maybe find better understanding. I’d love to go there with my cardiologist. Hmm…would that be an idea? To invite him along? And some artist friends? Wouldn’t that be instructive?!

