Sorrow

As long as I’m working hard and packing, I’m all right. But yesterday afternoon, being with a dear friend, sorrow whelmed up. Seeing each other will no longer be for granted. We’ll have to fix dates and bring along hubbies and kids and… I know we’re going to keep in touch and I know that when we see each other, it will be great. But our friendship will change. And I was enjoying it so much that I’m not quite ready to let go of it as it is yet. But I have to. “Parting is such sweet sorrow,” Shakespeare wrote. And indeed, it is. But for now I’m going to turn my nose back ahead and pack some more boxes. And I’ll try to pack my sadness too. Because I don’t really want to feel that way. I have to be strong for our daughters who are also mourning over the life they’re about to say good bye to. So I put my sadness in this journal page, put my chin up and go work like a mad man!

Material used: only 1 black Faber Castell Albrecht Dürer watercolor pencil. My absolute favorite!

