The Hubs and the Swedes…ain’t no Kohlrabis.

So, it’s spring! And I’m in the cooking mood! So, I send hubsydarling for some Kohlrabis. I just love the taste of cooked Kohlrabi…a little like cauliflower, but much, more more tasty. A nicer feel between my teeth as well. So, Kohlrabi it was!

Once back, hubsydearest proved to be a little undereducated in the vocabulary of the vegetable world. Because, instead of Kohlrabi, he brought me two Swedes!!! The joke is that it isn’t even very silly to mix them up. That is, if you don’t know what they look like! Because in Dutch, Kohlrabi is Koolrabi and Swede is called Koolraap. So, you can see the names look rather alike. So, even though my hubs knew to look for green turnips, he thought by the lack of them in the supermarket, to bring me the much larger beige, purple ones. The names were alike, so the veggies couldn’t be that different, now could they? Hehe, typical hubsy logic!

So, I don’t know how many veggie illiterates read my blog, but here a lesson in pictures and words:

Kohlrabi looks like this:

They are as big as human fists and to feed our family, I have two to three. I usually cut them in 1cm thick slices, cut off the peel and cut them into 1cm fries. Cook them for a bit in water with salt and serve with fresh parsley. Hmmmm. They taste somewhat like cauliflower, only juicier and with a more herby taste to them. They are my favorite veggie!

Then Swedes (or Rutabaga)..prepare for the shock, because they’re ugly:

How they taste, I dare not say. I’m sure I’ve eaten this in salads and soups, but not isolated as the main veggie. But today that’s going to change, for I’ve decided to prepare this veggie in three different ways. The kids are having pizza, so I can experiment freely without the burden of “will they love it?”

I decided to bake some in the oven, like the oven potatoes I’ve written about earlier. So, I’ve cut one Swede turnip in thick slices, peeled them and cut most of it into thick dice. I’m going to add oil to it when they’re dry, herbs and spices, mix that well, and put them on baking paper on the baking tray in the oven for about 25 minutes. Or more if they should need that. I’m curious how they will taste. Raw they’re a bit sweet…

Then I sort of ran out of creative ideas for this vegetable and found a lovely recipe in a very antique cookbook. Swede noodles! Cut the Swede turnip into slices, peel them and then with the cheeseslicer, slice then thinly in long, noodle-like slices. Loads of them:

I’ll drain them and then put them into the wok with some oil and add some soy cream with pepper, salt, dried celery leaf and a bit of cheese. I’m going to let that simmer until the “noodles” are done and tasty. Hmm…can’t go wrong, there, I hope!

Then, thirdly, really simple…I was about to make a pot of soup…so, I simply added some Swede turnip, cut into small dice! Curious to see what taste they will add to my soup.

Recipe for the soup:

1/4 Swede turnip, cut in dice
1 big onion, cut in dice
2,5 liter of good stock to your taste
2 or 3 bay leaves dried
400 grams mixed soup vegetables (ready packed, from supermarket)
a good pinch of dried celery leaf
a good pinch of garden lavage
if you like: 150 grams of spiced mince meat, rolled into small balls

Cut the onion and the Swede turnip and put in the pan with the water and the bay leaves. Crumble the stock and bring to the boil. Let this boil for 10 minutes and add mixed soup vegetables with celery leaf and garden lavage. Let this cook for another 10 minutes. If you like to add meat balls, prepare them in these 10 minutes, turn off the fire and add the balls. Let the soup sit for half an hour before serving… Add some freshly ground pepper if you like!

How it all tastes, I’ll let you know this evening!!! So far I’ve enjoyed myself immensely with the Swede turnips!

